Memoir Draft

Standard

Tristan Laclé

English 101

Persistence is key.  Every goal we make, every challenge we stand up to, persistence is the main attribute in everyday life.  Experiences in life force you to become persistent, for example a career.  When I was growing up, my parents and grandparents constantly reminded me and drilled the concept of never giving up through my skull and into my brain. Everyday we are in some way required to be persistent, at work, school, even in our home life.  Part of this persistency requires another adverb; creativity.  Some obstacles in life will force us to become significantly creative to overcome them.  For me and for many others, this creativity was inspired by curiosity.  By being curious, it allows us to concept together ideas and ways to achieve our goals, and one common goal we all shared (hopefully), was riding a bicycle.

This brings me back to the beginning of it all, the tricycle.  Before I could handle balancing two wheels, I had to take it in steps and begin with three.  The tricycle taught me the basics; how to pedal, steer, sit.  Soon enough I was riding around little red preschool, zipping by other children and hearing the wind scream back in my face.  Shortly after learning the tricycle, I came home one sunny evening to my father putting training wheels on what was my brand new Huffy.  I was ecstatic to see this, as my older brother had been able to ride a mountain bike for years.  Off I went my next step in learning how to ride, stumbling and falling down, occasionally balancing for a substantial amount of time.  Finally, I thought.  Now is my time, to take the training wheels off and accomplish this with no help once and for all.  The first few times were rough, I would consistently lean to one side or the other, and soon become agitated.  But as I once started with the tricycle, I had to keep trying, I wanted to know what is was like to fly down the streets on two wheels, leaning left and right to overcome the sharp corners.  Then, like nothing, I was riding.  I was riding with no hesitation, no lack of confidence, and no fear.

Now I could ride a bike.  I could switch the gears and hear the satisfying click as the gears changed.  But I still lacked something, I was still curious, was there more?  That’s when I tried what I thought was dangerous; riding with one hand.  Woohoo! I screamed inside my head as I finally accomplished riding with one hand, I thought I was amazing.  Not long after though, I was riding down the streets with no hands.  Little did I know what I had been preparing for down the line.

Following a few years after this is when it really began.  I became intensely involved in BMX, I wanted to learn how to flatland (spinning, rolling, parking lot tricks).  Time machine’s, Hitchikers, smoothies, stick b-s, they all sparked my curiosity.  But as I did with once learning to ride a bike, I was concentrating on taking on these goals in steps.  The wheelie was the first trick I learned, and boy did I love learning it.  I received my first bmx bike for free by a friend, and every wheelie I did after that I did longer and longer, faster and faster, I had it mastered.

As to where I am today, I now own a custom made flatland bike that cost a little over $2000 to put together.  Some of the above named tricks, ive accomplished, and there many more to come following.  There are many moments in life, were if you consider your circumstance, you may just be on the first step of many.  This is why I have chosen to never give, to never falter and if you do, consider another way, another option to make whatever it is you dream to do come true.

3 thoughts on “Memoir Draft

  1. jgoneau

    I think this is a really good piece about persistence, but also that you did a great job of tying all three topics together imaginatively. The topic is interesting and most people can probably relate to the beginning, but then you elaborate and make it more personal and suited to you while still holding the audiences interest. The only thing I would change or add is some more details or scenes from riding bikes (first time riding without training wheels, a favorite trick you mastered). The layout and transition of the memoir works really well and the whole piece flows from one end to another. Overall it’s a great essay, (the audience might be interested in a few more vivid scenes) that comes off smoothly and holds the reader’s attention very well.

  2. hpappas

    Because you know so much about this, it’s a good choice for a topic. But to follow the assignment, you need to focus on *one* of curiosity, creativity, or persistence. You could use any of the three approaches, but the one you choose to focus on will determine which details you include. If you’re focusing on all of the practice necessary to learn to ride, that’s about persistence. If you’re focusing on inventing your own tricks, that’s creativity, and so forth.

    The info about riding a tricycle and then a bike is rather familiar and doesn’t bring much new info to a reader. For me, where this really gets my interest is when you get to BMX riding (“Time machine’s, Hitchikers, smoothies, stick b-s,”). That’s a world I’d be interested in reading about. As Jordan points out, this could be improved by some scenes to describe your experience more vividly, the narrative of a specific time you went riding, with some friends maybe? You may need to use your imagination along with your memory to recreate such a time–but that’s how memoir works…:)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *